…a hedonistic musician living beyond the borders

F.Y.I

For those of you who might be wondering what on earth I am pursuing becoming (a concertmaster), I found an interesting article that discusses concertmaster duties, and compensation.

Click here to read more about Concertmasters

I have a long way to go still before I am ready for this position – it’s  a very difficult one to achieve.

Thursday was a bit of a downer for me as I competed to play a piece with orchestra against 19 other musicians from the National Academy Orchestra, and didn’t win. I always am discouraged when I lose something, but usually rebound after about half an hour of feeling like quitting.

I must say, however, that I shouldn’t be overly distressed that I didn’t win, considering the fact that I only studied the piece I performed for three weeks, and it was one of the more difficult pieces in the repertoire. And I also should say that I got a lot of positive feedback from those who heard the performance.

And I haven’t been pursuing the violin seriously again for much more than six months. All that to say, I shouldn’t even think about pouting, because that would be pretty silly, and self-centered. So, congratulations to those who DID win, for your hard work and brilliant performances!

And here’s to more hard practice, and hours upon hours spent in the practice room, honing my skill and technique!

Because I want to be a concertmaster someday!!

Leave a comment